Skip to main content


The Act makes provisions for the establishment by the Dental Council of statutory committees to act in relation to the Council’s functions in the following areas:

  • Education and Training
  • Auxiliary Dental Workers
  • Fitness to Practise

Each committee has a number of sub-committees which examine in detail special topics and report back to the parent committee.

In the Education and Training area, there are separate sub-committees dealing with registration, undergraduate and post-graduate dental training, specialist registration and examinations for non-EU dentists. In relation to auxiliary dental workers, there are separate sub-committees on dental nurses, dental technicians, clinical dental technicians and dental hygienists. The Fitness to Practise committee has an ethics sub-committee.

The Chairpersons of the statutory committees are as follows:

  • Education & Training – Prof. Anthony Roberts
  • Auxiliary Dental Workers – Dr. Niamh Galvin
  • Fitness To Practise – Dr. Rory Fleming

There is also a Finance and General Purposes Committee chaired by the President.