Skip to main content

Mutual Recognition – New Zealand

The Reciprocity Agreement between the Dental Council of New Zealand (DCNZ) and the Dental Council of Ireland (DCI) was signed on 19 October 2022. Under this the DCNZ and the Dental Council agree that each party recognises the accreditation standards and policies of the other party as being substantially equivalent to its own. There are four dental programmes covered under this agreement, two in New Zealand and two in Ireland and students graduating from these programmes after 19 October 2022. This agreement is subject to ongoing review.

A Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) between the IDC and the DCNZ mutually recognises graduates of general dentistry programs accredited by the IDC and by the DCNZ effective from 19 October 2022. Individuals attending dental programs in one country and planning to practice in another country should carefully investigate any requirements of the regulatory jurisdiction where they wish to practice for jurisdictional context considerations for registration.

The qualifications recognised by the Dental Council of Ireland from New Zealand under this agreement are:

• Bachelor of Dental Surgery, University of Otago.
• Bachelor of Dental Surgery with Honours, University of Otago.

Please consult the registration section of our website if you are interest in registering as a dentist under this agreement.

If you are interested in registering in New Zealand, further information can be obtained from the Dental Council of New Zealand at:

Physical & courier address
Level 7
22 The Terrace
Wellington 6011

Postal address
PO Box 10-448
Wellington 6140
New Zealand


+64 4 499 4820

Email addresses
For inquiries from practitioners about their applications or registration, and other public or media inquiries: